Calculating Time

When pursuing a grievance or bringing a complaint before the Board, there are often many deadlines to observe. For example, in the case of a complaint, the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) stipulates that it must be presented to the Board not later than 90 days after the event that gave rise to it.

Calculating time for these deadlines can be tricky, and the method of doing so varies depending on the applicable legislation.

The Board provides adjudication services to the federal public service pursuant to the FPSLRA. The Board also provides adjudication services to the parliamentary service (the Senate, the House of Commons, the Library of Parliament, the Office of the Senate Ethics Officer, and the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner), pursuant to the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Deadlines are calculated differently within each adjudication system.

Calculating time for matters relating to labour relations within the federal public service

When determining the date by which something must be done (for example, the date by which a grievance must be referred to adjudication), the day from which that deadline is calculated is not included, whereas Saturdays, Sundays, and other holidays are. If a given deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or other holiday, the deadline then becomes the next weekday that is not a holiday (sections 9 and 10 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Regulations).

For a better understanding, consider the following example.

If the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Regulations require that something be done within 25 days, then the following would be true:

Date of the event from which the deadline is calculated: 1st day to count 25th day counted Deadline date
Tuesday, March 1, 2011 Wednesday, March 2, 2011 Saturday, March 26, 2011 Monday, March 28, 2011, by 4:00 p.m. Ottawa time

Calculating time for matters within the parliamentary service

As with the federal public service, the day from which time is calculated is not included when counting days. However, contrary to the federal public service context, Saturdays, Sundays, and other holidays are NOT included when calculating deadlines. In other words, when calculating a deadline, only business days are counted (subsection 2(2) of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Regulations).

For a better understanding, consider the following example.

If the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Regulations require that something be done within 25 days, the following would be true:

Date of the event from which the deadline is calculated: 1st day to count Deadline date
Tuesday, March 1, 2011 Wednesday, March 2, 2011 Tuesday, April 5, 2011 by 4:00 p.m. Ottawa time

For more information…

Please consult:

  • The Interpretation Act, sections 26 to 30, for information of general application on calculating time where not otherwise prescribed in other statutory instruments, and subsection 35(1), for the definition of holiday.

Calcul des délais

Pour renvoyer un grief à l'arbitrage ou déposer une plainte devant la Commission, vous devez tenir compte des échéances. Dans le cas d'une plainte, par exemple, la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (LRTSPF) précise qu'elle doit être présentée à la Commission au plus tard 90 jours après l'événement qui en est l'origine.

Le calcul des échéances peut être compliqué, et la méthode à suivre varie selon la loi applicable.

La Commission dispense des services d'arbitrage à la fonction publique fédérale, conformément à la LRTSPF. Elle fournit également de tels services au Parlement (Sénat, Chambre des communes, Bibliothèque du Parlement, Bureau du conseiller sénatorial en éthique et Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique), comme l'exige la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). Pour chaque système d'arbitrage, les échéances sont calculées différemment.

Calcul des délais de présentation des affaires relatives aux relations de travail au sein de la fonction publique fédérale

Lorsque vous fixez une date limite (par exemple, la date à laquelle un grief doit être renvoyé à l'arbitrage), la journée à partir de laquelle cette échéance est calculée n'est pas incluse, mais les samedis, les dimanches et les autres jours fériés le sont. Si une échéance tombe un samedi, un dimanche ou un autre jour férié, la date est reportée au prochain jour de semaine non férié (articles 9 et 10 du Règlement sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral).

Afin de mieux comprendre, voyez l'exemple suivant.

Si le Règlement sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral exige qu'une mesure soit prise dans les 25 jours, alors le calcul se fait comme suit :

Date de l'événement à partir duquel l'échéance est calculée : 1er jour à considérer aux fins du calcul 25e jour calculé Date d'échéance
Le mardi 1er mars 2011 Le mercredi 2 mars 2011 Le samedi 26 mars 2011 Le lundi 28 mars 2011 à 16 h, heure d'Ottawa

Calcul des délais de présentation des affaires au sein du Parlement

Comme pour la fonction publique fédérale, la journée à partir de laquelle l'échéance est comptée n'est pas comprise dans le calcul des délais. Toutefois, contrairement à ce qui s'applique à la fonction publique fédérale, les samedis, les dimanches et les autres jours fériés ne sont pas inclus dans le calcul. Autrement dit, lorsque vous calculez une échéance, seuls les jours ouvrables sont comptés (paragraphe 2(2) du Règlement sur les relations de travail au Parlement).

Afin de mieux comprendre, voyez l'exemple suivant.

Si le Règlement sur les relations de travail au Parlement exige qu'une mesure soit prise dans les 25 jours, alors le calcul se fait comme suit :

Date de l'événement à partir duquel l'échéance est calculée : 1er jour à considérer aux fins du calcul Date d'échéance
Le mardi 1er mars 2011 Le mercredi 2 mars 2011 Le mardi 5 avril 2011 à 16 h, heure d'Ottawa

Pour plus de renseignements…

Veuillez consulter :

  • La Loi d'interprétation, articles 26 à 30, pour obtenir des renseignements d'application générale sur le calcul des délais non prescrits par d'autres textes réglementaires, et paragraphe 35(1), pour connaître la définition donnée à « jour férié ».