Judicial review

There are two standards under which the Federal Courts may review a quasi-judicial decision:

  • Correctness: for a finding of general law that is outside of the decision maker's specialized area of expertise and that raises an issue of central importance to the legal system as a whole; for a finding of statutory interpretation relating to the boundaries between the jurisdiction of different decision makers; for a finding of statutory interpretation relating to the jurisdiction of a decision maker to decide on the constitutionality of the enabling legislation.
  • Reasonableness: for any other finding. This type of review asks the following question: "Is the decision maker's conclusion within a range of possible, acceptable outcomes?"

Labour relations matters usually fall under the "reasonableness" standard. This is because it is considered that labour relations decision makers have special expertise in labour law and that that expertise should not necessarily be questioned (i.e., a judge will not automatically question the law applied by an expert in labour law).

At the end of the day, if the party seeking judicial review cannot present a substantial argument that the logic that led the labour relations decision maker to his or her decision is incorrect or unreasonable, according to the applicable standard for judicial review, the application will be denied.

Understanding the Federal Courts

The Federal Court and the Federal Court of Appeal deal only with matters that fall under federal statutes. Only these two courts have the jurisdiction to review decisions of federal boards, commissions and tribunals (including the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB)), with the exceptions of the Tax Court of Canada and military courts.

An application for judicial review must be made to the appropriate court. Parties seeking a review of a decision rendered by a panel of the FPSLREB or an adjudicator must make an application to the Federal Court of Appeal. For matters decided by other decision makers (i.e., the Chairperson) an application for review must be made to the Federal Court.

If a decision of the Chairperson is reviewed by the Federal Court, a party may appeal the Federal Court's decision to the Federal Court of Appeal and, ultimately, to the Supreme Court of Canada, if leave to appeal the Federal Court of Appeal's decision is granted.

If a decision of a panel of the FPSLREB or an adjudicator is reviewed by the Federal Court of Appeal, a party may appeal that court's decision to the Supreme Court of Canada, if leave to appeal is granted.

Reasons for which a decision may be reviewed

Subsection 18.1(4) of the Federal Courts Act provides that a decision of the Chairperson or an adjudicator may be judicially reviewed if the decision maker:

  • acted without jurisdiction, acted beyond his or her jurisdiction or refused to exercise his or her jurisdiction;
  • failed to observe a principle of natural justice, procedural fairness or other procedure that he or she was required by law to observe;
  • erred in law in making a decision or an order, whether or not the error appears on the face of the record;
  • based his or her decision or order on an erroneous finding of fact that he or she made in a perverse or capricious manner or without regard for the material before him or her;
  • acted, or failed to act, by reason of fraud or perjured evidence; or
  • acted in any other way that was contrary to law.

However, the interplay between subsections 18.1(4) and 28(2) of the Federal Courts Act and subsection 34(1) of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board Act provides that a decision rendered by a panel of the PLSREB may be judicially reviewed if the panel of the PSLREB:

  • acted without jurisdiction, acted beyond its jurisdiction or refused to exercise its jurisdiction;
  • failed to observe a principle of natural justice, procedural fairness or other procedure that its was required by law to observe; or
  • acted, or failed to act, by reason of fraud or perjured evidence.

The time limit for filing an application for judicial review is normally 30 days. More information can be obtained from the registries of the Federal Court and Federal Court of Appeal.

Contrôle judiciaire

L'une des deux normes de contrôle suivantes peut s'appliquer à la révision d'une décision par les Cours fédérales :

  • Décision correcte : pour une conclusion de droit général qui touche un domaine autre que le domaine d'expertise du décideur et soulève une question revêtant une grande importance pour le système judiciaire dans son ensemble; pour une conclusion d'interprétation de la loi qui touche aux limites des compétences de différents décideurs; pour une conclusion d'interprétation de la loi qui touche la compétence d'un décideur pour ce qui est de la constitutionnalité de la loi habilitante.
  • Décision raisonnable : pour tout autre type de conclusion. Ce type de contrôle vise à répondre à la question suivante : « La conclusion du décideur appartient-elle aux issues possibles acceptables? ».

Les questions de relations de travail sont généralement assujetties à la norme de la décision raisonnable, parce qu'on considère que le décideur en matière de relations de travail possède une expertise spécialisée en droit du travail et que cette expertise ne devrait pas nécessairement être remise en question (autrement dit, un juge ne remettra pas automatiquement en question le droit appliqué par un expert en droit du travail).

Au bout du compte, si la partie qui demande le contrôle judiciaire ne peut démontrer de façon convaincante que le raisonnement qui sous-tend la décision d'un décideur en matière de relations de travail est erroné ou déraisonnable, conformément à la norme applicable au processus de contrôle judiciaire, la demande sera rejetée.

Comprendre les Cours fédérales

La Cour fédérale et la Cour d'appel fédérale n'entendent que des causes qui relèvent de la législation fédérale. Ce sont les deux seules cours à avoir compétence pour réviser les décisions rendues par les commissions, conseils et tribunaux fédéraux (y compris la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF)), à l'exception des décisions de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt et des tribunaux militaires.

Une demande de contrôle judiciaire doit être présentée devant la cour appropriée. Dans le cas des décisions rendues par une formation de la CRTESPF ou un arbitre de grief, la demande doit être faite à la Cour d'appel fédérale. Dans le cas des autres décisions (c.-à-d. celles rendues par le président), la demande doit être présentée devant la Cour fédérale.

Si la Cour fédérale révise une décision du président, une partie peut interjeter appel de la décision rendue par la Cour fédérale devant la Cour d'appel fédérale et, en dernier recours, devant la Cour suprême du Canada, si elle obtient la permission d'en appeler de la décision rendue par la Cour d'appel fédérale.

Si la Cour d'appel fédérale révise une décision rendue par une formation de la CRTESPF ou un arbitre de grief, une partie peut interjeter appel de la décision rendue par la Cour d'appel fédérale devant la Cour suprême du Canada, si elle obtient la permission d'en appeler.

Motifs de contrôle d'une décision

Le paragraphe 18.1(4) de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales prévoit qu'une décision du président ou d'un arbitre de grief est susceptible de contrôle judiciaire si le décideur :

  • a agi sans compétence, outrepassé celle-ci ou refusé de l'exercer;
  • n'a pas observé un principe de justice naturelle ou d'équité procédurale ou toute autre procédure qu'il était légalement tenu de respecter;
  • a rendu une décision ou une ordonnance entachée d'une erreur de droit, que celle-ci soit manifeste ou non au vu du dossier;
  • a rendu une décision ou ordonnance fondée sur une conclusion de fait erronée, tirée de façon abusive ou arbitraire ou sans tenir compte des éléments dont il dispose;
  • a agi ou omis d'agir en raison d'une fraude ou de faux témoignages;
  • a agi de toute autre façon contraire à la loi.

Toutefois, les interactions entre les paragraphes 18.1(4) et 28(2) de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales et le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral suggèrent qu'une décision rendue par une formation de la CRTESPF peut faire l'objet d'un contrôle judiciaire si la formation de la CRTESPF :

  • a agi sans compétence, outrepassé celle-ci ou refusé de l'exercer;
  • n'a pas observé un principe de justice naturelle ou d'équité procédurale ou toute autre procédure qu'elle était légalement tenue de respecter;
  • a agi ou omis d'agir en raison d'une fraude ou de faux témoignages.

Le délai pour la présentation d'une demande de contrôle judiciaire est normalement de 30 jours. On peut obtenir plus d'information en communiquant avec le greffe de la Cour fédérale ou de la Cour d'appel fédérale.