General Information

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) was established on November 1, 2014, to replace the former Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the former Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST). The FPSLREB is an independent, quasi-judicial statutory tribunal with responsibilities in two large areas: labour relations and employment (staffing).

Labour Relations Matters

With respect to labour relations, the FPSLREB is responsible for administering the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems in the federal public and parliamentary service. FPSLREB members hold hearings throughout Canada in relation to grievances (including those that raise human rights issues), adjudication and complaints. The FPSLREB also provides mediation and conflict resolution services to help parties resolve differences without resorting to a formal hearing.

The statutes administered by the FPSLREB in relation to labour relations matters are the following:

  • Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act
  • Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act
  • Certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code
  • Yukon Education Labour Relations Act
  • Yukon Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act

Labour relations proceedings before the FPSLREB include grievance adjudication, applications for certification, revocation of certification, complaints of unfair labour practices, identification of positions whose duties are of a managerial and confidential nature, determination of essential services agreements where parties fail to agree, determination of successor rights, enforcement of obligations of employer and employee organization, and complaints against reprisals that resulted when federal employees exercised their rights relating to workplace health and safety under Part II of the Canada Labour Code.

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the FPSLREB administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems under the Yukon Education Labour Relations Act and the Yukon Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act. When performing these functions funded by the Yukon government, the FPSLREB acts respectively as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board and the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board.

Staffing (Employment) Matters

With respect to staffing or employment matters, the FPSLREB has the authority under the Public Service Employment Act to deal with complaints in the federal public service related to internal appointments and lay-offs, the implementation of corrective measures ordered by the FPSLREB and revocations of appointments. The FPSLREB conducts hearings, settlement conferences and mediation sessions in order to resolve complaints.

In fulfilling its mandate, the FPSLREB fosters fair and transparent staffing practices, which contribute to a public service that is formed based on merit and embodying linguistic duality and human rights.

Renseignements généraux

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF) a été établie le 1er novembre 2014 afin de remplacer la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP). La CRTESPF est un tribunal indépendant quasi judiciaire établi par une loi avec des responsabilités dans deux domaines importants : les relations de travail et l'emploi (dotation).

Questions de relations de travail

En ce qui concerne les relations de travail, la CRTESPF est chargée de l'administration des régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage des griefs dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement. Les commissaires de la CRTESPF tiennent des audiences d'arbitrage de griefs (incluant les griefs traitant de questions de droits de la personne), d'arbitrage et sur les plaintes à l'échelle du pays. La CRTESPF fournit également des services de médiation et de résolution de différends afin d'aider les parties à résoudre leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle.

Les lois appliquées par la CRTESPF concernant les questions de relations de travail sont les suivantes :

  • Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral
  • Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement
  • Certaines dispositions de la partie II du Code canadien du travail
  • Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon
  • Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral du Yukon

Les affaires de relations de travail traitées par la CRTESPF comprennent l'arbitrage de griefs, les demandes d'accréditation ou de révocation de l'accréditation, les plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, les demandes d'identification des postes ayant des fonctions de gestion et de nature confidentielle, la détermination des ententes sur les services essentiels lorsque les parties n'arrivent pas à s'entendre, la détermination des droits du successeur, l'exécution des obligations de l'employeur et de l'organisme de l'employé, et les plaintes au sujet de représailles qui résultent du fait que les employés fédéraux ont exercé leurs droits en matière de santé et sécurité au travail en vertu de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail.

La CRTESPF, aux termes d'une entente avec le gouvernement du Yukon, applique les régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs régis par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral du Yukon. Lorsqu'elle s'acquitte de ces fonctions subventionnées par le gouvernement du Yukon, la CRTESPF agit respectivement à titre de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon et de Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral du Yukon.

Questions de dotation (emploi)

En ce qui concerne les questions de dotation ou d'emploi, la CRTESPF a l'autorité en vertu de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique de traiter les plaintes dans la fonction publique fédérale liées aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilité, à la mise en œuvre de mesures correctives ordonnées par la CRTESPF et à la révocation de nominations. La CRTESPF tient des audiences, des conférences de règlement et des séances de médiation afin de régler les plaintes.

En s'acquittant de son mandat, la CRTESPF favorise des pratiques de dotation équitables et transparentes, qui contribuent à une fonction publique fondée sur le mérite et incorporant la dualité linguistique et les droits de la personne.