Certification, Revocation of Certification and Successor Rights

Certification is the process whereby an employee organization is recognized by the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) to represent a group of employees in their staff relations with their employer. Certification is granted for a specific bargaining unit, which generally corresponds to a group of positions within the employer's classification system.

Certification is granted when an employee organization that has applied for it is able to demonstrate that the majority of the employees within the bargaining unit wishes to be represented by it. This is achieved by having the employees in the bargaining unit participate in a secret ballot vote. The vote is administered by FPSLREB staff.

When the FPSLREB is satisfied that the majority of employees in a bargaining unit wishes to be represented by the employee organization that is applying for certification, the FPSLREB certifies the union and issues a certificate to that effect. Once it has been certified by the FPSLREB, the union obtains the right to bargain collectively on behalf of the employees included in the bargaining unit and thereby becomes their bargaining agent. In that capacity, it must choose the dispute resolution mechanism - either arbitration or conciliation/strike - that will apply in the event of an impasse at the bargaining table.

Certification also entails a duty of fair and equitable representation of the employees in question.

Certification is granted for an indeterminate period and is valid until another employee organization is certified by the FPSLREB and takes the place of the certified union or until certification is revoked by the FPSLREB upon application. A new certification application or an application for revocation of an existing certification can be filed with the FPSLREB only at certain times, that is, within two months of the date on which the collective agreement or arbitral award expires. Anyone who represents a majority of employees that no longer wishes to be represented by the certified union can apply for revocation of certification. As of June 16, 2015, the request for revocation can be made by anyone claiming to represent at least 40% of the employees. If the FPSLREB is satisfied that at least 40% of the employees no longer wish to be represented by the certified union, a representation vote is taken and if a majority supports this position, the FPSLREB must revoke the certification. Revocation can also be granted for abandonment or for fraud.

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act also provides for successor rights, that is, the transfer of the rights and obligations associated with certification, in certain circumstances. For example, if a department or a portion of a department or agency becomes a separate agency or becomes a part of an existing separate agency, the union's representation rights are protected and the collective agreements continue to apply to the employees who will be transferred to their new employer. The FPSLREB may be called upon to render orders to ensure that these transitions take place in an orderly manner. Under certain clauses of the Canada Labour Code, union rights and collective agreements continue to apply when a department or a portion of a department or agency becomes subject to the Code after becoming a federal Crown corporation or federal private sector employer.

L'accréditation, de la révocation de l'accréditation et des droits du successeur

L'accréditation est le processus par lequel une organisation syndicale est reconnue par la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF) pour représenter un groupe de fonctionnaires dans leurs relations de travail avec leur employeur. L'accréditation est accordée pour une unité de négociation donnée, qui correspond généralement à un regroupement de postes au sein du système de classification de l'employeur.

L'accréditation est accordée lorsque l'organisation syndicale qui en fait la demande peut démontrer que la majorité des employés regroupés au sein de l'unité de négociation désire être représentée par elle. Cette démonstration se fait par la tenue d'un vote au scrutin secret parmi les fonctionnaires de l'unité de négociation. Le vote est alors administré par le personnel de la CRTESPF.

Lorsque la CRTESPF est convaincue que la majorité des fonctionnaires de l'unité de négociation visée désire être représentée par l'organisation syndicale qui fait la demande d'accréditation, la CRTESPF accrédite le syndicat et lui émet un certificat en attestant. Une fois accrédité par la CRTESPF, le syndicat obtient le droit de négocier collectivement au nom des fonctionnaires inclus dans l'unité de négociation, et devient ainsi leur agent négociateur. À cette fin, il doit choisir, parmi l'arbitrage et la conciliation/grève, la méthode de règlement des différends qui s'appliquera en cas d'impasse à la table des négociations.

L'accréditation nécessite également le devoir de représentation juste et équitable de ces fonctionnaires.

L'accréditation est accordée pour une durée indéterminée et est valable jusqu'à ce qu'une autre organisation syndicale soit accréditée par la CRTESPF et substituée au syndicat accrédité, ou jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit révoquée par la CRTESPF, sur demande. Une nouvelle demande d'accréditation ou une demande de révocation d'une accréditation existante ne peuvent être présentées à la CRTESPF qu'à des moments précis, c'est-à-dire dans les deux (2) mois qui précèdent la date d'expiration de la convention collective ou de la décision arbitrale. La révocation d'une accréditation peut être demandée par quiconque représente une majorité d'employés ne désirant plus être représentée par le syndicat accrédité. À compter du 16 juin 2015, quiconque affirme représenter au moins quarante pour cent des employés peut faire la demande de révocation. Si la CRTESPF est convaincue qu'au moins quarante pour cent des employés ne souhaitent plus que l'organisation syndicale les représente à titre d'agent négociateur, la CRTESPF ordonne la tenue d'un scrutin de représentation. Si à la suite de la tenue de ce scrutin, la majorité ne souhaite plus être représentée par l'agent négociateur, la CRTESPF révoque son accréditation. La révocation peut aussi être accordée pour abandon ou pour fraude.

La Loi prévoit également les droits du successeur, c'est-à-dire le transfert des droits et obligations rattachés à l'accréditation, dans certaines circonstances. Dans le cas, par exemple, où un ministère ou une portion d'un ministère ou d'un organisme devient une « agence distincte » ou est intégrée à une agence distincte existante, les droits de représentations du syndicat sont protégés et les conventions collectives continuent de s'appliquer aux fonctionnaires qui seront mutés à leur nouvel employeur. La CRTESPF peut être appelée à rendre des ordonnances visant à assurer que ces transitions se fassent de façon ordonnée. Certaines dispositions du Code canadien du travail permettent également aux droits syndicaux et aux conventions collectives de continuer de s'appliquer lorsqu'un ministère ou une portion d'un ministère ou un organisme devient assujetti à ce Code à la suite de sa transformation comme société d'État fédérale ou employeur du secteur privé fédéral.