Beaulieu v. Royal Canadian Mounted Police



Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20171208
  • File:  561-02-812
  • Citation:  2017 FPSLREB 45

Before a panel of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board


BETWEEN

ROBERT BEAULIEU

Complainant

and

ROYAL CANADIAN MOUNTED POLICE

Respondent

Indexed as
Beaulieu v. Royal Canadian Mounted Police


In the matter of a complaint made under section 190 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act


Before:
Stephan J. Bertrand, a panel of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board
For the Complainant:
Himself
For the Respondent:
Geneviève Ruel, counsel
Heard at Montreal, Quebec,
June 22 and 23, 2017.
(FPSLREB Translation)

REASONS FOR DECISION

I. Complaint before the Board

1        Robert Beaulieu (“the complainant”) filed a complaint against the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (“the RCMP” or “the respondent”). The complaint is dated August 5, 2016, but it was received and stamped by the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board”) on August 15, 2016.

2        On August 18, 2016, the Board found that the complaint did not contain sufficient information to establish its nature, and it asked the complainant to provide additional information, which he did, on October 26, 2016.

3        The complaint was filed under s. 190(1)(g) of the Public Service Labour Relations Act (PSLRA), which reads as follows:        

190 (1)The Board must examine and inquire into any complaint made to it that

(g)the employer, an employee organization or any person has committed an unfair labour practice within the meaning of section 185.

4        Section 185 of the PSLRA defines an unfair labour practice as anything prohibited by ss. 186(1) or (2), 187, 188, or 189(1). The provision referred to in s. 185 that applies to this complaint is s. 186. According to the complainant, the respondent violated s. 186(1)(b) as well as ss. 186(2)(a)(i) and (2)(c)(i), (ii), and (iii),which provide for the following:

186 (1) Neither the employer nor a person who occupies a managerial or confidential position, whether or not the person is acting on behalf of the employer, shall

(b) discriminate against an employee organization.

(2) Neither the employer nor a person acting on behalf of the employer, nor a person who occupies a managerial or confidential position, whether or not that person is acting on behalf of the employer, shall

(a) refuse to employ or to continue to employ, or suspend, lay off or otherwise discriminate against any person with respect to employment, pay or any other term or condition of employment, or intimidate, threaten or otherwise discipline any person, because the person

(i) is or proposes to become, or seeks to induce any other person to become, a member, officer or representative of an employee organization, or participates in the promotion, formation or administration of an employee organization,

(c) seek, by intimidation, threat of dismissal or any other kind of threat, by the imposition of a financial or other penalty or by any other means, to compel a person to refrain from becoming or to cease to be a member, officer or representative of an employee organization or to refrain from

(i) testifying or otherwise participating in a proceeding under this Part or Part 2,

(ii) making a disclosure that the person may be required to make in a proceeding under this Part or Part 2, or,

(iii) making an application or filing a complaint under this Part or presenting a grievance under Part 2.

5        In its written response, as well as at the hearing, the respondent raised three preliminary objections. Among other things, it argued that the complaint is inadmissible and that it should be summarily dismissed because it was not filed within the time limit set out in s. 190(2) of the PSLRA,which reads as follows:

190 (2)Subject to subsections (3) and (4), a complaint under subsection (1) must be made to the Board not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew, or in the Board’s opinion ought to have known, of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint.

6        Under s. 190(2) of the PSLRA,a complaint must be made not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew or ought to have known of the action or circumstances that gave rise to it. Accordingly, the triggering event for a breach alleged by a complainant must occur within the 90 days preceding the complaint’s filing. In this case, the deadline was May 17, 2016, since the Board received the complaint on August 15, 2016. In any event, I indicated to the parties that I was willing to consider evidence about the action or circumstances that occurred outside the 90-day period to obtain an overall and contextual assessment of the evidence, as far as that evidence was relevant.

7        The sole purpose of the hearing was to consider the respondent’s preliminary objections. For the reasons that follow, I allowed two of its three objections. I decided not to address the third.

II. Summary of the evidence

8        Neither party called a witness to testify; however, by consent, they did file documentary evidence, namely, Exhibits E-1 to E-6 and P-1 to P-3.

9        It is important to keep in mind several contextual facts that both parties referred to during their submissions.

10        The RCMP is a unique institution in the public service in that it is a national police service. Given the nature of its duties, at the outset of collective bargaining in the public service in 1967, Parliament determined that RCMP members and certain employees were not permitted to bargain collectively and that they were specifically excluded from the definition of “employee” within the meaning of the PSLRA.

11        This exclusion was successfully challenged in Mounted Police Association of Ontario v. Canada (Attorney General), 2015 SCC 1. The Supreme Court of Canada (“the Supreme Court”) decided that excluding RCMP members from collective bargaining under paragraph (d) of the definition of “employee” in s. 2(1) of the PSLRA contravened the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The section of the PSLRA in question was declared without effect. That declaration was suspended for 12 months (which was extended to May 16, 2016) to allow for new legislation to be created governing collective bargaining for the RCMP. However, by May 16, 2016, no such legislation had been introduced and proclaimed into force. Consequently, effective the following day, members of the RCMP became “employees” for the purposes of the PSLRA and were granted the right to bargain collectively and to avail themselves of the recourse provided in it.

12        On June 19, 2017, An Act to amend the Public Service Labour Relations Act, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and other Acts to provide for certain other measures (S.C. 2017, c. 9) received Royal Assent, changing the name of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board and the titles of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and the PSLRA to, respectively, the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board, the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board Act,and the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act.

13        The new legislation contains a new definition of “employee.” The exclusion of RCMP members from collective bargaining is restricted to officers, within the meaning of s. 2(1) of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. R-10). In accordance with the new definition, the wording of s. 186 was also amended, although not substantially. Obligations with respect to unfair labour practices, as described earlier under the PSLRA,are unchanged.

III. Summary of the arguments

A. For the respondent

14        The respondent raised three preliminary objections. First, it submitted that the complainant’s allegations that s. 186(1)(b) of the PSLRA was violated are inadmissible because he does not have the standing to act in the circumstances, given that the provision in question refers to an employee organization and not to a member, an officer, or a representative of one. According to the respondent, only an employee organization has the standing to act or file a complaint under s. 186(1)(b). On that point, the respondent referred me to Reekie v. Thomson, [1998] C.P.S.S.R.B. No. 120 (QL), Feldsted v. Treasury Board, [1999] C.P.S.S.R.B. No. 57 (QL), Buchanan v. Correctional Service of Canada, 2001 PSLRB 128, Laplante v. Treasury Board (Department of Industry and the Communications Research Centre), 2007 PSLRB 95, Bialy v. Heavens, 2011 PSLRB 101, and Verwold v. Treasury Board (Correctional Service of Canada), 2015 PSLREB 66.

15        Second, the respondent submitted that the complaint should be dismissed because it was not filed within the period set out in s. 190(2) of the PSLRA. The respondent reminded me that the PSLRA stipulates that complaints filed under s. 190(1) must be made not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew or ought to have known of the action or circumstances that gave rise to it. According to the respondent, this period is mandatory and cannot be extended. On that point, it referred me to Scott v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, 2013 PSLRB 72, Gibbins v. Canada Revenue Agency, 2015 PSLREB 17, Boshra v. Canadian Association of Professional Employees, 2011 FCA 98, and Mark v. Canadian Food Inspection Agency, 2007 PSLRB 34.

16        The respondent argued that the circumstances that gave rise to the complaint occurred well outside the 90-day period and that the complainant was fully aware of the events when they occurred. He was aware of the employer’s alleged directive not to use its resources from February 17, 2015 (Exhibit E-2). With respect to the alleged reprisals, his earlier numerous complaints and grievances (Exhibit P-1) establish that he knew of these events between 2007 and 2015, well before the 90-day period.

17        Third, the respondent submitted that the Board did not have the jurisdiction to deal with the complaint because the circumstances that gave rise to it occurred before May 17, 2016, the date on which the Board was granted jurisdiction, even before the Supreme Court’s decision in Mounted Police Association of Ontario. According to the respondent, the complainant could not avail himself of recourse or remedies under the PSLRA before May 17, 2016. Therefore, he could not base his complaint on events that occurred before that date, much less before the Supreme Court’s decision. The respondent reminded me that that decision has no retroactive effect. On that point, it referred me to McNeil v. Treasury Board (Department of National Defence), 2009 PSLRB 84, and Lafrance v. Treasury Board (Statistics Canada), 2006 PSLRB 56.

B. For the complainant

18        The complainant attempted to address several issues primarily related to the merits of his complaint and of his earlier grievances. He also provided me with a document of responses to the respondent’s arguments. However, he did not address the three preliminary issues that I must decide, at least not in a sufficiently coherent manner to allow me to make an informed summary.

IV. Reasons

A. The complainant’s standing

19        As suggested in the case law that the respondent noted, only an employee organization or its duly authorized representative may base a complaint on a violation of s. 186(1) of the PSLRA, whether under s. 186(1)(a) or (b). The state of the law on this point is clear and has been applied consistently by this Board. Subsection 186(1) refers to the protection of an “employee organization,” while s. 186(2) refers to the protection of a “person” who is a member of such an organization. The complainant is not a duly authorized representative of an employee organization. Therefore, my opinion is that his allegations of a violation of s. 186(1)(b) are inadmissible because he does not have standing in the circumstances. Thus, I must dismiss the portions of his complaint that deal with that paragraph.

B. The 90-day period

20        Compliance with this time limit is paramount, and the fundamental condition to respect in this context appears in s. 190(2) of the PSLRA,as follows:

190 (2) a complaint under subsection (1) must be made to the Board not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew, or in the Board’s opinion ought to have known, of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint.

21        I agree with the respondent’s argument that the 90-day time limit set out in s. 190(2) is mandatory and that no other PSLRA provision authorizes the Board to extend it. That is an accurate account of the current state of the law that applies to this case.

22        The Board has often reiterated the binding nature of s. 190(2), namely, in Castonguay v. Public Service Alliance of Canada,2007 PSLRB 78 at para. 55, which reads as follows:

[55] That wording is clearly mandatory by its use of the words “must be made no later than 90 days …”. No other provision of the PSLRA gives jurisdiction to the Board to extend the time limit prescribed in subsection 190(2).…

23        Based on the evidence before me, I must determine the moment on which the complainant knew or ought to have known of the circumstances that gave rise to his complaint and whether he filed it within 90 days of that date. This is a factual issue.

24        The complainant filed his complaint on August 15, 2016. Although he provided clarification to the Board on October 26, 2016, in my opinion, he expressed the intention of filing his complaint on August 15, 2016, by filing a Form 16. Therefore, his complaint should arise from the action or circumstances that he knew or ought to have known of on May 17, 2016, at the earliest. Based on the documentary evidence tendered by the parties, in my opinion, he knew or ought to have known of the action or circumstances that gave rise to his complaint well before May 17, 2016. The evidence clearly established that he was fully aware of the events that gave rise to his complaint when they occurred and that those events took place between 2007 and 2015 (Exhibits E-2, E-3, E-4, E-5, E-6, and P-1). Those events are the basis of over 14 grievances and complaints filed with the RCMP during that period.

25        Having considered all the evidence before me, I am satisfied that the circumstances giving rise to the complaint did not occur in the 90 days before it was filed. The real reasons for it go back much further. They date from 2007, or nine years before the complaint was filed. Consequently, the complainant could not claim that he became aware of the action or circumstances that gave rise to his complaint within the 90-day period in question, i.e., between May 17, 2016, and August 15, 2016. Consequently, I find that the complaint was filed outside the period set out in s. 190(2) of the PSLRA

26        For these reasons, I must allow the respondent’s objection that the complaint is inadmissible because it is out of time. Therefore, the complaint is dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

C. Could the complainant base his complaint on events that occurred before he was subject to the PSLRA?

27        Since I found that the complaint should be dismissed on the basis of the first two objections, I am not convinced of the need to address the respondent’s third objection, and I will not. In any event, it would be at best a purely theoretical exercise, since I have already found that the complainant knew of the circumstances that gave rise to his complaint well before the deadline of concern, namely, between May 17, 2016 (the date that coincides with the coming-into-force of the Supreme Court’s decision), and August 15, 2016.

28        For all of the above reasons, the Board makes the following order:

V. Order

29        The complaint is dismissed. I order the file closed.

December 8, 2017.

FPSLREB Translation

Stephan J. Bertrand,

a panel of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board

Beaulieu c. Gendarmerie Royale du Canada



Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral et Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20171208
  • Dossier:  561-02-812
  • Référence:  2017 CRTESPF 45

Devant une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral


ENTRE

ROBERT BEAULIEU

plaignant

et

GENDARMERIE ROYALE DU CANADA

défenderesse

Répertorié
Beaulieu c. Gendarmerie Royale du Canada


Affaire concernant une plainte visée à l’article 190 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral


Devant:
Stéphan J. Bertrand, une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans le secteur public fédéral
Pour le plaignant:
lui-même
Pour la défenderesse:
Geneviève Ruel, avocate
Affaire entendue à Montréal (Québec),
les 22 et 23 juin 2017.

MOTIFS DE DÉCISION

I. Plainte devant la Commission

1        Robert Beaulieu (le « plaignant ») a déposé une plainte contre la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada (la « GRC » ou la « défenderesse »). La plainte est datée du 5 août 2016, mais elle a été reçue et estampillée par la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (la « Commission ») le 15 août 2016.

2        Le 18 août 2016, la Commission a conclu que la plainte ne contenait pas suffisamment d’information pour lui permettre d’en établir la nature et elle a demandé au plaignant de lui fournir des renseignements additionnels, ce qu’il a fait le 26 octobre 2016.

3        La plainte a été déposée en vertu de l’alinéa 190(1)g) de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la « LRTFP »), qui se lit comme suit :

190 (1) La Commission instruit toute plainte dont elle est saisie et selon laquelle :

[…]

g) l’employeur, l’organisation syndicale ou toute personne s’est livré à une pratique déloyale au sens de l’article 185.

4        L’article 185 de la LRTFP définit une pratique déloyale de travail comme étant tout ce qui est interdit par le paragraphe 186(1) ou (2), l’article 187 ou 188, ou le paragraphe 189(1) de la LRTFP. La disposition de la LRTFP visée par l’article 185 qui s’applique à la présente plainte est l’article 186. Selon le plaignant, la défenderesse a enfreint l’alinéa 186(1)(b), ainsi que les sous-alinéas 186(2)(a)(i), 186(2)(c)(i), 186(2)(c)(ii) et 186(2)(c)(iii) de la LRTFP,qui prévoient ce qui suit :

186 (1) Il est interdit à l’employeur et au titulaire d’un poste de direction ou de confiance, qu’il agisse ou non pour le compte de l’employeur:

[…]

b) de faire des distinctions illicites à l’égard de toute organisation syndicale.

186 (2) Il est interdit à l’employeur, à la personne qui agit pour le compte de celui-ci et au titulaire d’un poste de direction ou de confiance, que ce dernier agisse ou non pour le compte de l’employeur:

a) de refuser d’employer ou de continuer à employer une personne donnée, ou encore de la suspendre, de la mettre en disponibilité, ou de faire à son égard des distinctions illicites en matière d’emploi, de salaire ou d’autres conditions d’emploi, de l’intimider, de la menacer ou de prendre d’autres mesures disciplinaires à son égard pour l’un ou l’autre des motifs suivants:

(i) elle adhère à une organisation syndicale ou en est un dirigeant ou représentant — ou se propose de le faire ou de le devenir, ou incite une autre personne à le faire ou à le devenir —, ou contribue à la formation, la promotion ou l’administration d’une telle organisation,

[…]

c) de chercher, notamment par intimidation, par menace de congédiement ou par l’imposition de sanctions pécuniaires ou autres, à obliger une personne soit à s’abstenir ou à cesser d’adhérer à une organisation syndicale ou d’occuper un poste de dirigeant ou de représentant syndical, soit à s’abstenir :

(i) de participer, à titre de témoin ou autrement, à une procédure prévue par la présente partie ou la partie 2,

(ii) de révéler des renseignements qu’elle peut être requise de communiquer dans le cadre d’une procédure prévue par la présente partie ou la partie 2,

(iii) de présenter une demande ou de déposer une plainte sous le régime de la présente partie ou de déposer un grief sous le régime de la partie 2.

5        Dans sa réponse écrite, ainsi qu’à l'audience, la défenderesse a soulevé trois objections préliminaires. Entre autres, elle a affirmé que la plainte était irrecevable et qu’elle devait être rejetée de façon sommaire puisqu’elle n’avait pas été déposée à l’intérieur du délai prévu au paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTFP, qui se lit comme suit :

190 (2) Sous réserve des paragraphes (3) et (4), les plaintes prévues au paragraphe (1) doivent être présentées dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours qui suivent la date à laquelle le plaignant a eu — ou, selon la Commission, aurait dû avoir — connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu.

6        Selon le paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTFP, une plainte ne peut être déposée au-delà d’un délai de 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle le plaignant a eu, ou aurait dû avoir, connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu. Par conséquent, l’élément déclencheur d’une violation alléguée par un plaignant doit avoir eu lieu dans les 90 jours précédant le dépôt de la plainte. En l’espèce, la date butoir est le 17 mai 2016, puisque la plainte a été reçue par la Commission le 15 août 2016. Quoi qu’il en soit, j’ai tout de même indiqué aux parties que j’étais disposé à considérer des éléments de preuve relativement à des mesures ou à des circonstances qui ont eu lieu en dehors de la période de 90 jours afin d’obtenir une appréciation globale et contextuelle de l’ensemble de la preuve, dans la mesure où ces éléments de preuve sont pertinents.

7        L’audience avait uniquement pour objectif d’aborder les objections préliminaires de la défenderesse. Pour les motifs qui suivent, j’ai accueilli deux des trois objections préliminaires de la défenderesse. J’ai choisi de ne pas adresser la troisième.

II. Résumé de la preuve

8        Les parties n’ont appelé aucun témoin à témoigner. Toutefois, elles ont déposé, sur consentement, des preuves documentaires, soit les pièces E-1 à E-6 et P-1 à P-3.

9        Il est important de garder à l’esprit quelques faits contextuels auxquels les deux parties ont fait référence lors de leur présentation.

10        La GRC est une institution unique dans la fonction publique. Il s’agit du service de police national. Étant donné la nature des tâches à accomplir, le Parlement a déterminé, au début de la négociation collective dans la fonction publique fédérale en 1967, que les membres et certains employés de la GRC n’étaient pas autorisés à négocier collectivement et qu’ils étaient spécifiquement exclus de la définition de « fonctionnaire » au sens de la LRTFP.

11        Cette exclusion a été contestée avec succès dans Association de la police montée de l'Ontario c. Canada (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 1. La Cour suprême du Canada (la « Cour suprême ») a statué que l’exclusion des membres de la GRC de la négociation collective en vertu de l’alinéa d) de la définition de « fonctionnaire » figurant à l’article 2(1) de la LRTFP constituait une violation de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. L’article en question de la LRTFP a été déclaré sans effet. La déclaration d’invalidité a été suspendue pour douze mois (prolongé au 16 mai 2016), afin de permettre la création d’une nouvelle loi régissant la négociation collective pour la GRC. Toutefois, au 16 mai 2016, aucune loi de ce genre n’avait été déposée et proclamée en vigueur. Par conséquent, à compter du lendemain, les membres de la GRC sont devenus des « fonctionnaires » aux fins de la LRTFP et se sont vus accorder le droit de négocier collectivement et de se prévaloir des recours prévus par celle-ci.

12        Le 19 juin 2017, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et d’autres lois et comportant d’autres mesures (L.C. 2017, ch. 9) a reçu la sanction royale et a modifié, entre autres, le nom de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et le titre de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et de la LRTFP pour qu’ils deviennent, respectivement, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral, et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral.

13        Le nouveau texte législatif contient une nouvelle définition de « fonctionnaire ». L’exclusion des membres de la GRC de la négociation collective ne vise maintenant que les officiers, au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (L.R.C., 1985, ch. R-10). Conformément à cette nouvelle définition, le texte de l’article 186 a aussi changé, mais pas de façon substantive. Les obligations en termes de pratiques déloyales, comme décris ci-dessus selon la LRTFP, restent les mêmes.

III. Résumé de l’argumentation

A. Pour la défenderesse

14        La défenderesse a soulevé trois objections préliminaires. Dans un premier temps, elle a soumis que les allégations du plaignant ayant trait à une violation de l’alinéa 186(1)(b) de la LRTFP sont irrecevables puisque celui-ci n’a pas la qualité d’agir dans de telles circonstances, étant donné que la disposition en question vise une organisation syndicale et non une personne qui adhère à une organisation syndicale ou qui en est un dirigeant ou représentant. Selon la défenderesse, seule une organisation syndicale possède la qualité d’agir et de déposer une plainte en vertu de l’alinéa 186(1)(b) de la LRTFP. Sur ce point, la défenderesse m’a renvoyé à Reekie et Thomson, [1998] C.R.T.F.P.C. no 120 (QL), Feldsted et Conseil du Trésor, [1999] C.R.T.F.P.C. no 57 (QL), Buchanan c. Service correctionnel du Canada, 2001 CRTFP 128, Laplante c. Conseil du Trésor (Industrie Canada et le Centre de recherches sur les communications), 2007 CRTFP 95, Bialy et al. c. Heavens et Conseil du Trésor, 2011 CRTFP 101 et Verwold c. Conseil du Trésor (Service correctionnel du Canada), 2015 CRTEFP 66.

15        Dans un deuxième temps, la défenderesse a soumis que la plainte devait être rejetée puisqu’elle n'avait pas été déposée à l’intérieur du délai prévu au paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTFP. Elle m’a rappelé que la LRTFP stipule que les plaintes prévues au paragraphe 190(1) doivent être présentées à l’intérieur d’un délai de
quatre-vingt-dix jours suivant la date à laquelle le plaignant avait, ou aurait dû avoir, connaissance des faits y ayant donné lieu. Selon la défenderesse, ce délai est de rigueur et ne peut être prolongé. Sur ce point, la défenderesse m’a renvoyé à Scott c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2013 CRTFP 72, Gibbins c. Agence du revenu du Canada, 2015 CRTEFP 17, Boshra c. Association canadienne des employés professionnels (ACEP), 2011 CAF 98 et Mark c. Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, 2007 CRTFP 34.

16        La défenderesse a fait valoir que les événements ayant donné lieu à la plainte se sont produits bien en dehors de la période prévue de quatre-vingt-dix jours et que le plaignant était pleinement au courant des événements au moment où ils se sont produits. Le plaignant connaissait la présumée directive de l’employeur de ne pas utiliser ses ressources depuis le 17 février 2015 (pièce E-2). En ce qui a trait aux présumées mesures de représailles, les nombreuses plaintes et griefs antérieurs du plaignant (pièce P-1) témoignent d’une connaissance de ces événements entre 2007 à 2015, soit bien avant la période prévue de quatre-vingt-dix jours.

17        Dans un troisième temps, la défenderesse a soumis que la Commission n’avait pas compétence pour traiter la plainte puisque les évènements y ayant donné lieu étaient survenus avant le 17 mai 2016, date à laquelle la Commission s’est vue accorder compétence, voire même avant la décision de la Cour suprême dans Association de la police montée de l’Ontario. Selon la défenderesse, le plaignant ne pouvait se prévaloir des recours ou remèdes prévus par la LRTFP avant le 17 mai 2016. Il ne peut donc pas fonder sa plainte sur des évènements qui ont eu lieu avant cette date et encore moins avant la décision de la Cour suprême. La défenderesse m’a rappelé que la décision de la Cour suprême n’avait aucun effet rétroactif.
Sur ce point, elle m’a renvoyé à McNeil c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de la Défense nationale), 2009 CRTFP 84 et Lafrance c. Conseil du Trésor (Statistique Canada), 2006 CRTFP 56.

B. Pour le plaignant

18        Le plaignant a tenté d’aborder plusieurs questions se rapportant principalement au bien-fondé de sa plainte et de ses anciens griefs. Il m’a également remis un document visant à répondre aux arguments de la défenderesse. Malgré cela, il n’a pas abordé les trois questions préliminaires que je dois trancher, du moins pas d’une manière suffisamment cohérente pour me permettre d’en faire un sommaire informatif.

IV. Motifs

A. La qualité d’agir du plaignant

19        Tel qu’il est suggéré dans la jurisprudence invoquée par la défenderesse, seule une organisation syndicale ou son représentant dûment autorisé peut fonder une plainte sur la violation du paragraphe 186(1) de la LRTFP, que ce soit aux termes de l’alinéa 186(1)a) ou de l’alinéa 186(1)b). L’état du droit sur ce point est clair et a été appliqué de manière constante par cette Commission. Le paragraphe 186(1) vise la protection d’une « organisation syndicale », contrairement au paragraphe 186(2) qui vise la protection d’une « personne » qui adhère à une telle organisation. Le plaignant n’est pas un représentant d’une organisation syndicale dûment autorisé. Je suis donc d’avis que les allégations du plaignant relativement à une violation de l’alinéa 186(1)(b) de la LRTFP sont irrecevables puisque celui-ci n’a pas la qualité d’agir dans de telles circonstances. Je dois donc rejeter les parties de sa plainte qui traitent de cet alinéa.

B. Le délai de 90 jours

20        Le respect du délai en question est primordial, et la condition fondamentale à respecter à cet égard figure au paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTFP qui prévoit que :

190(2) […] les plaintes prévues au paragraphe (1) doivent être présentées dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours qui suivent la date à laquelle le plaignant a eu — ou, selon la Commission, aurait dû avoir — connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu.

21        Je suis d’accord avec l’affirmation de la défenderesse selon laquelle le délai de quatre-vingt-dix jours prescrit par le paragraphe 190(2) est obligatoire et qu’aucune autre disposition de la LRTFP n’autorise la Commission à le proroger. Il s’agit d’un compte rendu exact de l’état actuel du droit qui s’applique au présent cas.

22        La Commission a souvent réitéré le caractère obligatoire du paragraphe 190(2), notamment au paragraphe 55 de Castonguay c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2007 CRTFP 78, qui se lit comme suit :

[55] Le libellé de cette disposition revêt manifestement un caractère obligatoire en raison des mots « […] doivent être présentées dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours […] ». Aucune autre disposition de la nouvelle LRTFP n´habilite la Commission à proroger le délai prescrit par le paragraphe 190(2). […]

23        En me fondant sur la preuve dont je suis saisi, je dois déterminer le moment où le plaignant a eu, ou aurait dû avoir, connaissance des circonstances qui ont donné lieu à sa plainte et s’il a déposé sa plainte dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours suivant cette date. Il s’agit d’une question factuelle.

24        Le plaignant a déposé sa plainte le 15 août 2016. Bien qu’il ait fourni des précisions à la Commission le 26 octobre 2016, il a, selon moi, formulé l’intention de déposer sa plainte le 15 août 2016, au moyen du dépôt de la formule 16. Par conséquent, sa plainte doit découler des mesures ou des circonstances dont il a eu, ou aurait dû avoir, connaissance le 17 mai 2016, au plus tôt. En me fondant sur la preuve documentaire produite par les parties, je suis d’avis que le plaignant a eu, ou aurait dû avoir, connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances ayant mené à sa plainte bien avant le 17 mai 2016. La preuve a clairement établi que le plaignant était pleinement au courant des événements qui ont donné lieu à sa plainte au moment où ils se sont produits, et que ces événements se sont produits de 2007 à 2015 (pièces
E-2, E-3, E-4, E-5, E-6 et P-1). Ces événements constituent le fondement de plus de quatorze griefs et plaintes déposés auprès de la GRC durant cette période.

25        Ayant pris en considération l’ensemble de la preuve qui m’a été présentée, je suis convaincu que les circonstances donnant lieu à la plainte ne se sont pas produites dans la période de quatre-vingt-dix jours précédant le dépôt de la plainte. Les véritables raisons de cette plainte datent de bien plus longtemps. Elles remontent à 2007, soit neuf ans avant le dépôt de la plainte. Le plaignant ne peut donc pas prétendre qu’il a pris connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances ayant donné lieu à sa plainte à l’intérieur de la période de quatre-vingt-dix jours en question, c’est-à-dire entre le 17 mai 2016 et le 15 août 2016. Par conséquent, je conclu que la plainte a été déposée en-dehors du délai prescrit au paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTFP.

26        Pour ces motifs, je dois accueillir l’objection de la défenderesse voulant que la plainte soit inadmissible parce qu’elle est hors délai. Par conséquent, la plainte est rejetée pour manque de compétence.

C. Le plaignant peut-il fonder sa plainte sur des événements survenus avant qu’il ne soit assujetti à la LRTFP ?

27        Comme j’ai conclu que la plainte doit être rejetée sur la base des deux premières objections, je ne suis pas convaincu de la nécessité d’aborder cette troisième objection de la défenderesse et je ne le ferai pas. Quoi qu’il en soit, il s’agirait, au mieux, d’un exercice purement théorique, puisque j’ai déjà conclu que le plaignant avait pris connaissance des circonstances ayant donné lieu à sa plainte bien avant les échéanciers qui nous concernent, soit du 17 mai 2016 (date qui coïncide avec la date d’entrée en vigueur de la décision de la Cour suprême) au 15 août 2016.

28        Pour ces motifs, la Commission rend l’ordonnance qui suit :

V. Ordonnance

29        La plainte est rejetée. J’ordonne la fermeture de ce dossier.

Le 8 décembre, 2017.

Stéphan J. Bertrand,

une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans le secteur public fédéral